City of Cocoa Latest News (Home Page)

Posted on: June 13, 2017

Councilmembers & City Mgr Appointed to Serve on FL League of Cities Legislative Policy Committees

Legislative Commitee Press Release

The Florida League of Cities has appointed Cocoa District 2 Councilperson, Brenda Warner and City Manager, John A. Titkanich, Jr., AICP, ICMA-CM to serve on the 2017-2018 Land Use & Economic Development Legislative Policy Committee and District 4 Councilperson, Jeri Blanco to serve on the 2017-2018 Energy, Environment & Natural Resources Legislative Policy Committee.

"Municipal officials are the driving force behind the League’s legislative success. In addition to setting the legislative priorities, the League’s policy committee members help to provide League staff with a better understanding of the real world implications of proposed legislation,” said Florida League of Cities Legislative Director Scott Dudley. “We appreciate their willingness to serve, as there is a significant commitment of time and energy that goes into developing a policy direction for our legislative efforts.”

Cocoa’s District 2 Councilperson, Brenda Warner has been committed to building a solid foundation for Cocoa’s future for almost two decades when she was first elected to the Cocoa City Council in 1999. She has chaired the Titusville Chamber Government Affairs Committee and been a member of the Cocoa Police Advisory Board, Cocoa Parks and Recreation Advisory Board, and the Downtown Redevelopment Agency. She currently serves on the Brevard County Affordable Housing Council, the County Affordable Housing Task Force, the Cocoa US 1 Corridor Redevelopment Agency, and the Cocoa Police Athletic League Board of Directors.

Cocoa’s District 4 Councilperson, Jeri Blanco was appointed to City Council in 2016. She has served on the US 1 CRA for the city for approximately ten years as well as on the Brevard County CDBG Board since 2014. As a local Realtor she has also served on several committees for the Board of Realtors. She currently serves on the MLS Committee, the Brevard Children in Need Committee and the Government Affairs Committee.

Cocoa’s City Manager, John A. Titkanich, Jr., AICP, ICMA-CM has been with the City of Cocoa for over a decade now. Prior to being appointed City Manager in February 2013, John served as the City’s Community Development Director for more than eight years. He previously served as a Planner in both Land Development and Economic Development for the City of Orlando. John created the Office of Economic Development for the City of Cocoa in 2002 and is a member of the International City/County Management Association where he is recognized as a Credentialed Manager (ICMA-CM).

Legislative Policy Committee chairs, vice-chairs and members are appointed annually by the League president. Any city official is eligible to serve on a Policy Committee, and appointments are typically based upon a city official’s support and advocacy of the League’s adopted Legislative Action Agenda, participation at meetings, Legislative Action Day and other legislative-related activities.

For more information on the Florida League of Cities’ Legislative Policy Development Process, please visit

Additional Info...
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email